Spec-first · Factory-neutralCertificates checked at source

Product Guides

Short-Term vs Long-Term Intravascular Catheters: FDA 510(k) Specification Fields for Central Access Consumables

A buyer specification guide to FDA short-term (<30 days) versus long-term (≥30 days) intravascular catheters: 21 CFR 880.5200 vs 880.5970, product codes FOZ, PND, and LJS, ISO 10555 standards, and 510(k) evidence fields.

· · 20 min read

Catalog-editorial comparison of single-use intravascular catheters with triple, single, and dual extension lumens on a stainless-steel tray

Short-Term vs Long-Term Is a 510(k) Classification, Not a Cannula Gauge Chart

When healthcare procurement teams and medical supply distributors prepare request-for-quotation (RFQ) packages for vascular access lines, they frequently inherit commercial templates originally created for peripheral intravenous (IV) cannulas. In those peripheral schedules, purchasing decisions revolve around catheter gauge, needle outer diameter, and ISO 6009 hub color standards. Attempting to specify central venous catheters (CVCs), peripherally inserted central catheters (PICCs), or extended-dwell midline lines using cannula gauge charts creates fundamental regulatory and clinical misalignments. In the regulatory framework of the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the boundary between a short-term and a long-term intravascular catheter is an established regulatory classification cut and substantial equivalence boundary, not a bedside dwell guideline or cannula color matrix.

Under Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations, intravascular catheters are split into distinct generic device types based on intended indwelling duration. Specifically, 21 CFR 880.5200 defines an intravascular catheter as a slender tube and any necessary connecting fittings inserted into the patient’s vascular system for short-term use—defined in regulation as less than 30 days—to sample blood, monitor blood pressure, or administer fluids intravenously. It is classified as Class II under general performance standards. Conversely, 21 CFR 880.5970 establishes the generic device type for a percutaneous, implanted, long-term intravascular catheter. This regulation explicitly applies to devices intended for repeated vascular access for long-term use of 30 days or more, classifying them as Class II with designated special controls.

The named special control for 21 CFR 880.5970 is the FDA’s March 1995 Guidance on Premarket Notification [510(k)] Submission for Short-Term and Long-Term Intravascular Catheters. Promulgated by the Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH) Office of Device Evaluation, this document remains the foundational specification map cited across premarket filings for both short- and long-term vascular lines. While the FDA landing page confirms the guidance was drafted prior to the February 1997 Good Guidance Practices (GGP) provisions and does not legally bind the agency or the public to a single technical path, it provides the universal blueprint of mechanical benchmarks, labeling fields, and biocompatibility expectations used in tender evaluations.

Procurement officers must distinguish this procurement specification process from clinical practice guidelines. Hospital dwell times, dressing changes, and central-line-associated bloodstream infection (CLABSI) prevention bundles are clinical governance matters. Neither 21 CFR 880.5200 nor 21 CFR 880.5970 mandates when a clinician must remove a line. They set the generic device type and duration class; 21 CFR 880.5970 additionally names the 1995 intravascular-catheter 510(k) guidance as the special control that a long-term filing must address. For over-needle peripheral cannulas, buyers should consult our dedicated technical reference on IV cannula sizes, color codes, and specifications, which addresses ISO 10555-5 and ISO 6009 hub color standards.

What the 1995 Guidance Requires on Catheter Labeling

The 1995 FDA guidance provides an exhaustive labeling checklist that functions as an objective data dictionary for hospital purchasing specifications. Rather than allowing suppliers to submit marketing brochures with ambiguous claims like "suitable for extended hospital infusion," hospital tender packages should mandate verifiable responses across the labeling fields in the 1995 checklist rather than a marketing brochure.

A rigorous procurement specification for central and midline catheters requires data extraction across the following core attributes:

  • Useful and Effective Length: The usable length of the catheter shaft expressed in centimeters, measured from the junction of the hub or manifold strain relief to the distal tip, along with explicit instructions on whether the distal tip is trimmable in the procedure room.

  • Outer and Inner Diameters (Dry vs. Hydrated): Outer diameter expressed in French (Fr) size or gauge, accompanied by true internal lumen diameters. For hydrophilic biomaterials (such as polyether or polyol formulations that soften and expand in contact with blood), the manufacturer must provide both dry dimensions and fully hydrated equilibrium dimensions.

  • Lumen Configuration and Priming Volumes: Exact number of lumens (single, dual, triple, or quad), geometric lumen cross-sections (concentric, D-shaped, or crescent), and the internal fluid priming volume in milliliters for each independent lumen.

  • Distal Tip Geometry and Markings: Configuration of the distal end (open straight cut, tapered, bulleted, or valved), orientation of side ports, and indelible centimeter depth markings measured sequentially from the distal tip along the shaft.

  • Intended Anatomic Termination: Explicit labeling of the intended anatomic location of the distal tip (such as the lower third of the superior vena cava, the cavoatrial junction, or below the axillary fold for midlines) and the recommended radiographic or fluoroscopic confirmation methods.

  • Recommended Vascular Access Sites: Labeled cannulation routes (internal jugular, subclavian, femoral, basilic, cephalic, or brachial veins) validated during regulatory review.

  • Pediatric and Neonatal Restrictions: For any catheter with an outer diameter of 3 Fr (1.0 mm) or less, specific pediatric and neonatal use instructions; if the catheter has not been validated for pediatric populations, an explicit labeling statement indicating it is not intended for pediatric or neonatal use.

  • Maximum Indwelling Statement: A clear statement of the maximum duration the catheter may remain in situ, directly reflecting the preclinical biocompatibility and mechanical testing scope.

  • Material and Chemical Disclosures: Full disclosure of fluid-path contact materials, including mandatory labeling statements such as "Contains DEHP" if di(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate plasticizers are utilized in tubing, extension lines, or manifold bodies.

  • Accessory and Guidewire Compatibility: Maximum permissible guidewire outer diameter (expressed in thousandths of an inch, e.g., 0.018 in or 0.035 in) and compatible introducer sheath sizes.

  • Detectability and Imaging Profiles: Radiopacity verification under ASTM F640 standards and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) safety disclosures, specifically noting whether metallic braiding or ferromagnetic components are present.

  • Sterility, Non-Pyrogenicity, and Single-Use: Labeled statements for sterility, non-pyrogenicity, and single-use only, as appropriate to the finished device—not a hospital reprocessing instruction.

  • Labeled Indications: Whether the label includes pressure monitoring, blood sampling, TPN, named agents, or other indicated uses, including pediatric or neonatal instructions when intended.

A frequent point of confusion in hospital purchasing reviews stems from the 1995 guidance’s discussion of peripheral catheter dwell times. In the in-situ duration labeling item, the FDA advised applicants that peripheral catheters should not imply in-situ times exceeding then-cited CDC Guidelines (72 hours) unless supporting evidence is offered, and it pointed to a separate data section for extended-time claims. Buyers must recognize that this 72-hour sentence was a 1995 manufacturer labeling caveat. It does not define the regulatory cut of 21 CFR 880.5200 (<30 days), does not apply to midline catheters cleared under product code PND, and must not be cited as a legal purchasing disqualifier for modern extended-dwell consumables.

FOZ, PND, and LJS: Distinct Product Codes and Regulatory Identities

When evaluating supplier submissions, hospital supply chain teams must look beyond commercial product titles. Words like "midline," "PICC," "long-line," and "CVC" are frequently used colloquially across vendor catalogs. In the FDA regulatory database, however, these products map to three distinct three-letter product codes under 21 CFR 880: FOZ, PND, and LJS. Each code carries specific classification fields, consensus standard listings, review pathways, and supply-chain flags.

The following matrix defines the governing regulatory parameters established in live FDA classification listings for these three intravascular catheter product codes:

Product Code & DescriptionGoverning RegulationDuration ThresholdImplanted FlagThird-Party ReviewConsensus Standards Listed
FOZ: Catheter, Intravascular, Therapeutic, Short-Term21 CFR 880.5200 (Class II)Short-term (<30 days)NoEligibleIncludes ISO 10555-1:2023 (Rec# 6-499) and ISO 10555-5:2013 (Rec# 6-303); ISO 10555-3 is not listed on the FOZ record
PND: Midline Catheter21 CFR 880.5200 (Class II)Product-code definition <28 days (regulation remains 880.5200 <30 days)NoNot EligibleNone listed on live product code classification record
LJS: Catheter, Intravascular, Therapeutic, Long-Term21 CFR 880.5970 (Class II Special Controls)Long-term (≥30 days)YesNot EligibleIncludes ISO 10555-1:2023 (Rec# 6-499) and ISO 10555-3:2013 (Rec# 6-305)

Analyzing these three product codes reveals critical operational differences that impact supply chain risk management:

  • FOZ (Short-Term Intravascular Catheter): Governed by 21 CFR 880.5200, FOZ covers short-term vascular lines intended for indwelling durations under 30 days. It is eligible for the 510(k) Third Party Review Program. Crucially, FDA flags FOZ as Implanted Device? No. Live FDA classification records list ISO 10555-1:2023 and ISO 10555-5:2013 on the FOZ profile. However, short-term acute CVCs—including multi-lumen acute central lines—are routinely cleared under FOZ despite having central venous tip terminations.

  • PND (Midline Catheter): PND sits under the same 21 CFR 880.5200 regulation as FOZ, but its classification definition specifically designates an intended use for infusion of fluids and medications for less than 28 days. Target anatomy is restricted to peripheral veins (basilic, cephalic, or brachial) with the distal tip terminating at or near the axillary area, strictly outside the central thoracic vasculature. Unlike FOZ, PND is not eligible for third-party review, and its FDA classification record lists no consensus standards block.

  • LJS (Long-Term Intravascular Catheter): Governed by 21 CFR 880.5970, LJS applies to percutaneous lines intended for vascular access of 30 days or more. The FDA system designates Implanted Device? Yes, which carries significant implications for Unique Device Identification (UDI) tracking and hospital inventory management under Global UDI Database (GUDID) rules. LJS is ineligible for third-party review. The live LJS classification record explicitly lists ISO 10555-1:2023 and ISO 10555-3:2013 as recognized consensus standards.

Buyers must also enforce clear boundaries against subcutaneous implanted infusion ports. Governed by 21 CFR 880.5965 under product code LJT, totally implanted ports consist of a subcutaneous reservoir with a resealable septum connected to a long-term catheter. Implanted ports are governed by an October 1990 port guidance document, not the 1995 intravascular catheter guidance. Implanted ports represent an entirely distinct capital and surgical consumable family that must never be mixed into percutaneous catheter tenders.

flowchart TD
    Start["Vascular Access Consumable RFQ"] --> AnatomicCheck{"Intended Distal Tip Location?"}
    AnatomicCheck -->|"Peripheral vessel (not vena cava)"| TipPeriph["Distal tip limited to a peripheral vessel"]
    AnatomicCheck -->|"At or near axillary line"| TipMidline["Distal tip at or near the axillary area"]
    AnatomicCheck -->|"Vena cava / lower-third SVC"| TipCentral["Distal tip in the vena cava"]
    TipPeriph --> StyleCheck{"Labeled identity?"}
    StyleCheck -->|"Over-needle peripheral cannula"| CodePeriph["Over-needle peripheral<br/>ISO 10555-5 / ISO 6009<br/>See published cannula article"]
    StyleCheck -->|"Not over-needle; copy the 510(k) code"| MidlineCheck
    TipMidline --> MidlineCheck{"Labeled product code and duration?"}
    MidlineCheck -->|"PND definition less than 28 days"| MidlinePND["Midline catheter PND<br/>21 CFR 880.5200<br/>Not third-party eligible"]
    MidlineCheck -->|"FOZ less than 30 days, e.g. HydroMID"| MidlineFOZ["Short-term midline FOZ<br/>21 CFR 880.5200<br/>Third-party eligible"]
    TipCentral --> DurationCheck{"Labeled duration class?"}
    DurationCheck -->|"Short-term less than 30 days"| AcuteCVC["Acute CVC can be FOZ<br/>21 CFR 880.5200<br/>ISO 10555-1; 10555-3 often declared"]
    DurationCheck -->|"Long-term 30 days or more"| PICCLJS["PICC under LJS<br/>21 CFR 880.5970<br/>Implanted flag Yes"]
Regulatory classification uses labeled tip location, duration class, and product code—not catalog words or a cannula color chart.

Counterexamples from cleared 510(k) devices illustrate why procurement teams cannot infer regulatory identity from marketing names alone:

  • A Central Venous Catheter Can Be Coded as FOZ: Under clearance K241115 (cleared November 27, 2024), Spectrum Vascular cleared the SV Spectrum MRC 7 Fr triple-lumen central line. The catheter’s distal tip is positioned in the lower third of the superior vena cava (SVC). However, because its labeled duration is short-term (<30 days), it is classified under 21 CFR 880.5200, product code FOZ. Central venous tip termination does not automatically transform a line into product code LJS.

  • A Marketed "Midline" Can Be Coded as FOZ Rather Than PND: In clearance K203069 (cleared February 8, 2021), Access Vascular cleared the HydroMID single-lumen catheter. Even though the device is commercially marketed as a midline with an intended tip location below the axillary line, the manufacturer filed and obtained clearance under 21 CFR 880.5200, product code FOZ, with a <30-day indication. Conversely, Piper Access cleared its Stiletto line under K210047 using product code PND with an explicit <28-day indication. Buyers must record the actual 510(k) product code, not the word "midline."

  • A PICC Can Carry Dual Duration Indications Under LJS: Clearances K181904 (Piper 5 Fr dual-lumen PICC) and K232594 (CATHTONG II PICC) are both Class II, 21 CFR 880.5970, product code LJS. K181904 lists duration of use as short (<30 days) or long-term (≥30 days); K232594’s indications form states short or long-term peripheral access to the central venous system for adult patients. A short-term use statement on a PICC label does not recode the device as FOZ or change the GUDID implanted-device flag on LJS.

The ISO 10555 Standards Family: Scope, Recognition, and Traps

Consensus engineering standards provide the technical foundation for substantial equivalence in 510(k) submissions. In the vascular access domain, the ISO 10555 series (Intravascular catheters — Sterile and single-use catheters) represents the primary testing framework. However, suppliers often make sweeping assertions such as "fully compliant with all ISO 10555 standards." Hospital evaluators must cross-reference which part and which specific edition the manufacturer declared, and whether the FDA recognizes that edition for the subject product code.

Standard & PartCurrent ISO StatusFDA Recognition StatusApplicable CodesProcurement Scope & Verification
ISO 10555-1: General RequirementsThird Edition (2023-11)Recognized in Full: Rec# 6-499 (May 29, 2024)FOZ, LJS, and related linesUniversal baseline: tensile strength, burst under power injection, liquid leakage under pressure/aspiration, hubs, and biocompatibility.
ISO 10555-3: Central Venous CathetersSecond Edition (2013-06)Recognized in Full: Rec# 6-305 (Jan 30, 2014)LJS, FOZ (when CVC indicated)Particular requirements for CVCs. Note: ISO/DIS 10555-3 is currently under revision; declared files currently cite the 2013 edition.
ISO 10555-5: Over-Needle Peripheral CathetersSecond Edition (2013-06)Recognized in Full: Rec# 6-303 (Jan 30, 2014)FOZ (peripheral cannulas)Applies strictly to over-needle peripheral IV catheters. Must not be used as the testing basis for central or midline catheters.
ISO 10555-7: Peripherally Inserted Central CathetersFirst Edition (2023-12)Not Listed on live FOZ/LJS recognition blocksNot listed on live FOZ or LJS classification pagesDedicated PICC standard published late 2023. Not yet recognized on live FDA classification pages; current PICC 510(k)s declare Parts 1 and 3.

Understanding the structural evolution of the ISO 10555 standards prevents critical procurement errors:

  • ISO 10555-1:2023 General Requirements (FDA Rec# 6-499): Published in November 2023 and granted complete FDA recognition on May 29, 2024 (List 062, Recognition Number 6-499), the Third Edition replaced ISO 10555-1:2013 and its 2017 amendment. The public structure of Clause 4 encompasses universal physical benchmarks: peak tensile force per lumen, freedom from leakage during positive pressurization (now including an air-leakage test option), freedom from leakage during negative pressure aspiration, hub integrity, flow rate characterization, and power-injection burst pressure. Furthermore, ISO 10555-1 does not apply to vascular catheter accessories, which are governed separately by ISO 11070.

  • The Declared Edition Gap: Because 510(k) clearances take months to compile, newly cleared devices (such as K241115 cleared in late 2024) continue to declare conformity to the withdrawn Second Edition (ISO 10555-1:2013+A1:2017). Supply chain auditors should verify which edition was declared in the device’s Declaration of Conformity rather than assuming the latest 2023 edition was used.

  • ISO 10555-3:2013 Central Venous Lines (FDA Rec# 6-305): This particular standard supplements Part 1 for catheters terminating in the vena cava. Although listed on the LJS classification record, manufacturers of acute FOZ CVCs (such as Spectrum Vascular’s K241115 and Cook’s K223648) also declare ISO 10555-3 to substantiate central venous tip integrity and multi-lumen manifold strength.

  • The ISO 10555-7 PICC Recognition Trap: In December 2023, ISO published ISO 10555-7:2023, establishing the first dedicated international standard for peripherally inserted central catheters. However, as of September 2026, the FDA has not added ISO 10555-7 to its Recognized Consensus Standards Database for product codes FOZ or LJS. Cleared PICC 510(k) submissions currently establish mechanical safety by pairing general Part 1 with CVC Part 3. Procurement tenders must not disqualify PICC suppliers for lacking ISO 10555-7 certificates, nor should they accept unverified vendor claims of "FDA-recognized ISO 10555-7 compliance."

Lumen, Material, Tip Location, and Power Injection: Evidence from Cleared 510(k)s

To illustrate how technical parameters are translated into regulatory filings, the following comparison examines five representative cleared vascular access devices across acute CVC, midline, extended dwell, and PICC categories. All data points are extracted directly from public FDA 510(k) summaries and decision letters.

Device & 510(k)Product Code & Reg.French / GaugeLumens & LengthShaft MaterialIntended Distal TipPower Injection Rating
Spectrum SV Spectrum MRC (K241115)FOZ | 21 CFR 880.5200 (<30 days)7 FrTriple Lumen (15, 20, 25 cm)Aliphatic polyether polyurethane; minocycline/rifampin + chlorhexidineLower third of SVC above cavoatrial junctionAll 3 lumens power injectable; max 300 psi contrast
Access Vascular HydroMID (K203069)FOZ | 21 CFR 880.5200 (<30 days)4 FrSingle Lumen (20 cm)Radiopaque hydrophilic polyol biomaterialArm vein below the axillary line (non-central)Power injectable; max flow rate 6 mL/sec
Piper Stiletto Catheter (K210047)PND | 21 CFR 880.5200 (<28 days)18G, 20GSingle lumen; 20G at 8 and 10 cm; 18G at 10 and 12 cmPolyurethane shaft; integrated introducer needle/sheath; no guidewirePeripheral vein terminating at/near axillary areaLabeled power injection: 18G 7 mL/sec; 20G 5 mL/sec
Piper Dual-Lumen PICC (K181904)LJS | 21 CFR 880.5970 (short or ≥30 days labeled)5 FrDual Lumen (Two 18G lumens; 55 cm trimmable)Aromatic polycarbonate polyurethane; labeled ethanol-resistant up to 70% ethanolLower third of SVC; peripheral basilic/cephalic entryMax 300 psi; max flow 5 mL/sec
CATHTONG II PICC (K232594)LJS | 21 CFR 880.5970 (short or long-term labeled)5 Fr (5F dual lumen as labeled)Dual lumen (usable length not stated on the public letter)Not stated on the public K232594 letter/IFU formPeripheral access to the central venous system; no SVC landmark on the letter5F dual lumen: 5.0 mL/sec; injection limit 325 psi; adult patients

Comparative analysis of these filings highlights several non-obvious engineering trade-offs that buyers must incorporate into bid scoring:

  • True Lumen Geometries vs. French Outer Diameter: French size (1 Fr = 1/3 mm) measures outer diameter, not internal flow area. A 7 Fr triple-lumen CVC such as K241115 therefore cannot be specified by outer French size alone. The public 510(k) for that SKU does not publish per-lumen gauge equivalents; buyers should request each lumen’s labeled identity, priming volume, and, if claimed, power-injection flow rather than inferring 16G/18G splits from catalogs.

  • Biomaterial Chemistry and Dimensional Shift: Polyurethane formulations dominate vascular lines due to their balance of column strength during insertion and vascular softening at body temperature. However, advanced biomaterials introduce hydration dynamics. For example, Access Vascular’s HydroMID (K203069) uses a radiopaque hydrophilic polyol shaft. The 510(k) discusses reduced thrombus accumulation in pre-clinical models and states that those evaluations do not necessarily predict clinical thrombus performance. Hydrophilic polymers can change outer diameter, inner diameter, and stiffness when hydrated, so the 1995 checklist still asks for dry and hydrated dimensions when the material can change gauge, flow, or length.

  • Power Injection Limits Are Not Universal: With the widespread use of computed tomography (CT) contrast protocols, RFQs frequently require "power injectable" lines. As shown in the named files, burst pressure and flow limits are SKU-specific: K241115 rates power injection of contrast media at a maximum 300 psi with all three lumens power injectable; K181904 limits injection to 300 psi and 5 mL/sec on that 5 Fr dual-lumen PICC; and K232594’s indications form sets a 325 psi injection limit and 5.0 mL/sec for the labeled 5F dual-lumen adult configuration. Do not copy one file’s psi or mL/sec onto another SKU, and do not treat "power injectable" as a binary checkbox.

Surface Treatments, Antimicrobials, and Hub Connectors

Beyond base polymers and length configurations, hospital consumable specifications increasingly demand specialized surface enhancements, infection-reduction technologies, and standardized fluid connectors. Each of these features introduces distinct regulatory constraints that buyers must document.

In October 2019, the FDA issued its guidance on Intravascular Catheters, Wires, and Delivery Systems with Lubricious Coatings. This guidance specifically applies to vascular catheters utilizing hydrophilic (e.g., polyvinylpyrrolidone / PVP) or hydrophobic (e.g., polytetrafluoroethylene / PTFE or silicone) coatings under product codes FOZ and LJS. The October 2019 lubricious-coating labeling guidance treats coating type, integrity, and particulate or delamination information as labeling fields for coated FOZ and LJS devices. When a SKU is coated, RFQs should request those labeled fields. They are not a duration-class change and are not cross-brand coating equivalence.

Antimicrobial combination-product claims represent another critical evaluation category. In clearance K241115, the SV Spectrum MRC catheter incorporates minocycline and rifampin impregnated throughout the polyurethane shaft, paired with a chlorhexidine surface coating. Infection-prevention committees may review these combination-product files during tender evaluation. The legal boundary of the K241115 clearance is still: the FDA cleared the catheter based on in-vitro reduction of bacterial colonization on catheter surfaces. The clearance explicitly states that the device is not cleared to treat existing bloodstream infections, and clinical outcome correlation with reduced infection incidence was not legally established in the 510(k) summary. Suppliers must not market antimicrobial surface claims as a substitute for clinical aseptic protocols, nor do antimicrobial coatings change a short-term FOZ line into a long-term device.

Fluid-path connectivity is a labeled hub-family field, not a reason to recast this page as a connector-selection article. Older files such as K181904 declared ISO 594-1:1986 and ISO 594-2:1998 Luer fittings. Current FDA recognition for intravascular/hypodermic small-bore connectors is ISO 80369-7:2021 (small-bore connectors for intravascular or hypodermic applications), recognized complete as Rec# 5-133 (Second edition 2021-05). Cook’s K223648 declared BS EN ISO 80369-7:2017; the older PICC file K181904 still declared ISO 594-1:1986 and ISO 594-2:1998. Hub identity is the labeled connector family. This page does not select ENFit or NRFit connectors.

For comprehensive guidance on how catheter hub connectors interface with gravity sets, infusion pumps, and needle-free injection valves, procurement teams should review our companion analysis on IV administration set specifications. Furthermore, because changes to hub resin, plasticizer formulations, or antimicrobial coatings can trigger regulatory re-filing, supply chain contracts should incorporate the change control and lot release stipulations detailed in our guide to quality agreements for consumable suppliers, and ensure packaging integrity during distribution as outlined in labeled storage and transport for medical consumables.

The Procurement RFQ Checklist: What to Require and What to Exclude

To eliminate commercial ambiguity and ensure vendor proposals are directly comparable, hospital purchasing departments and distributor sourcing leads should structure their vascular access RFQs around the following seven-point verification checklist:

Checklist ParameterMandatory RFQ Submission RequirementPrimary Source of TruthAcceptance / Verification Rule
1. Regulatory Duration & 510(k) ClassState governing regulation: 21 CFR 880.5200 (<30 days) vs 21 CFR 880.5970 (≥30 days).FDA 510(k) Clearance Letter & SummaryDo not substitute a 21 CFR 880.5200 FOZ SKU when the tender specified 21 CFR 880.5970 (≥30 days).
2. Labeled Product CodeProvide exact three-letter FDA product code: FOZ, PND, or LJS.FDA 510(k) Database & Product LabelingVerify code matches catalog claims: do not accept general FOZ lines as specialized PND midlines without verified IFU tip location.
3. Anatomic Distal Tip TerminationSpecify labeled distal tip location: lower third of SVC vs axillary vein vs peripheral.Manufacturer Instructions for Use (IFU)Ensure intended clinical placement matches labeled indications and radiographic verification procedures.
4. Dimensional GeometriesProvide usable length (cm), outer French/gauge, true per-lumen IDs, and priming volumes.Engineering Drawings / Technical DatasheetFor hydrophilic polymers, mandate both dry and hydrated equilibrium measurements.
5. ISO 10555 Conformity by EditionState declared edition for ISO 10555-1 and particular parts (Part 3 for CVC, Part 5 for cannula).Manufacturer Declaration of ConformityVerify whether ISO 10555-1:2023 or 2013+A1 was declared. For PICCs, note whether ISO 10555-7 was declared or Parts 1/3.
6. Connector Hub ArchitectureDeclare the hub family actually used: ISO 80369-7 (record the declared edition) versus ISO 594.510(k) Summary Standards TableEnsure compatibility with hospital needle-free valves and IV infusion set lines.
7. Power Injection & Material DisclosuresState max contrast injection pressure (psi), max flow rate (mL/sec), and DEHP/latex status.Device Labeling & Technical Data FileRecord the labeled psi and mL/sec for that SKU and lumen; do not treat 300 psi or 5 mL/sec as a family-wide limit.

Finally, hospital procurement and quality assurance teams should establish scheduled review triggers to keep vascular access purchasing specifications current. Sourcing specifications should be formally audited whenever the FDA amends 21 CFR 880.5200 or 880.5970, revises consensus recognition numbers (such as Rec# 6-499 for ISO 10555-1 or Rec# 6-305 for ISO 10555-3), officially recognizes ISO 10555-7 for PICCs, publishes the upcoming Third Edition of ISO 10555-3 (ISO/DIS 10555-3), or issues an updated Good Guidance Practices replacement for the historic March 1995 intravascular catheter guidance document.